Poetry, Reflective

Loss

lucie-and-tiggy-largeIt’s a shame you never loved me,

It’s not your loss, it’s all mine.

Because most my friends had 3 or 4

Who told them off,

then hugged them tight.

Who made them laugh,

with tales of plight.

And who loved their every flaw.

It’s a shame you were my only one,

Yet I was one of many.

Because I always found out how

When you went away

You took the others,

But never me,

Or my brothers,

And it’s bothering me now.

I have nothing to remind me,

‘Cept a picture I procured.

Because you never really knew me.

Photos that I sent

You never saw,

Never opened,

Were found in a drawer.

And so that’s my family.

It’s a shame you never loved me,

Because I’m worth it, don’t you know.

Standard

Leave a Reply

