Diary, Uncategorized

My Personal Advent. Ho, Ho, Ho!

Friday, 16th

beauty-queen-as-christmas-tree-california-1930

Well, would you look at that, we’re at the end of week 5 already! It’s been quite a positive one too, what with my Book Group meal on Monday, Nige’s benefit getting sorted, his pension claim moving forward, the worry of Brent being passed back to, well, Brent and a meal out tonight with a couple of true friends of his. Phew, that was a mouthful. See, I said it’d been a good week.

Radiotherapy at 8.48am, as usual. We got in and out early, as usual, and had the blood test done. As usual. The wives in the waiting room asked about our trip to Bristol yesterday. That led to them asking the age of our kids. When I told them they’re 21 and 23 they went a bit quiet.

‘You don’t look old enough to have kids that old!’

‘Well, I am…’

‘I would’ve put you at your mid to late twenties…’

‘Wow, no, I’m 47! Thanks though.’

Nice right? Although I don’t know what they must think of Nige, married to a twenty-something… Lucky bastard I expect!

Home for coffee and breakfast. Then I had an email to say our package had arrived at Debenhams. So after lunch Nige and I strolled into town to pick it up. We didn’t loiter for long, knowing that we had to walk back we thought we’d save our legs! A good job too as it was most definitely an arduous hike. Nige did equally as well as me – my fitness levels are appalling – and he’s still nap-free.

The afternoon was spent doing very little; Nige is compiling a quiz for Christmas so he was busy with that. I caught up on a bit of sleep and did the laundry before taking Ali to work. I started getting ready for our DCActiv night out at about 5pm – well, we don’t get out much!

We got to Opa at about 7.45pm, so not late really. Everyone was already there, milling around the bar area, chatting and drinking. Initially slightly overwhelmed, Nige managed conversation brilliantly and Rob helped by immediately greeting us. Actually, they were all extremely good and by the time we sat down to eat, we both felt relaxed. I kept half an ear on Nige’s conversation with Matt, just to make sure he wasn’t getting flustered – he was fine. Which enabled me to natter on with Breda, Paul’s wife. We ended the evening with heartfelt wishes and assurances from both Rob and Paul, along with a hug each! All quite emotional, but then I do tear up at the drop of a hat these days.

Nige went straight to bed when we got home, I made myself a Black Russian and followed him up.

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

