Uncategorized

My Personal Advent. Ho, Ho, Ho!

Monday, 19th

9a624bbcdbad6be45b471d78fffb4937

1992

I spent last night in Calne at my childhood home with my mum. I’m sure there must have been someone (anyone) else there but I have no recollection who. I can’t really remember my mum! Nige spent last night in our little flat above the chip shop in Batheaston alone. We set of to Bath in dad’s car and arrived at the Francis Hotel, where we met up with Nige and the Bath guests. I think the Nottingham lot (all 4 of them) were there too. My family came up with us. My enduring memory is of my beautiful brother, Ben, forgetting his suit trousers and having to wear a pair of Moleskin ones of my dad’s. The wedding took place in the registry office on Charlotte Street. A tape recording of something suitable played me down the ‘aisle’ and I caught a fit of the giggles as I echoed my vows. Somewhere amongst that Katharine, Nigel’s niece, dropped a bag of coins that her mum had given her to play with.

Ceremony over, we all adjourned to Queens Square for photos. I say photos, Mavis and her husband, John, had their little camera, as did a few others so they all got snapping away. Next: The George at Bathampton (Coincidence, eh?) for the reception. We were upstairs, in a quirky little room, level with the canal path. A lovely little buffet, with a wedding cake made by mum and coming in at a handsome £70, all in.

It was all truly wonderful and I would not have changed anything. The subsequent 23 years and 9 months have been bloody marvellous too. But the past 3 months? Well, they’ve been insightful, incredible, terrifying, emotional, heart-wrenching, life-affirming… crappy, shit… Still truly wonderful, even if I wish (oh I wish) I could change them, because when you find your soul mate you don’t let them go. You cherish them and nurture the relationship. You meet every obstacle with a ‘can do’ attitude and you fight. You fight.

Happy 24th anniversary, you beautiful man. Always and forever xxxxxxx

2016

The beginning of week 6, the final countdown. There was a real buzz in Oncology this morning. I’m putting it down to the spirit of Christmas, of course, although the fact we’re all on our last week may have something to do with it!

Home and a smashing cup of coffee. Then I booked us a table at Graze for an anniversary lunch. Gabe starts work at 12 so I made the booking for half past, dropped Gabe at the fountain and then went to find a parking space. Well, could I park? Oh my goodness, we drove around and around. Finally we ended up on the very top of Avon Street Car Park, queued to pay, rushed to get to Graze (15 minutes late) and sat down, out of breathe and knackered! We ate our splendid lunch and left in plenty of time to fetch the car and pick up Harry and Ali from the bus station. Unfortunately though, the sodding lift at the carpark was out of order. Poor Nige, so many steps, so little breathe… We got home and his nap-free run was at an end. Not surprising, I could’ve easily joined him!

Despite spending hours on a coach, Ali still went to work, bless her. Harry, Sam and Aaron are picking her up later as they’re all off to The Hope and Anchor. Gabe’s off out straight from work too so with that one trip to Medical Records, I’m done. Gin and tonic for me.

Oh, yoga! I have started. I’ve gone right back to the beginning though, with a basic 12 day programme. Day 1 done, BOOM! Proud? Yeah, you are… x

Standard

Leave a Reply

