Diary

My Personal Advent. Ho, Ho, Ho!

Tuesday, 20th

6b467bcfe0a32959545363fc0702266b

Despite it being a later appointment, it was a bloody early start. 6am to be precise… Not even Eccles had uttered a word. Because we weren’t in until 10.18, the Temozolomide needed taking at 9, so Nige wanted breakfast at 7, or just before. Otherwise he’d have to wait until 11, hence my early, rude awakening. I kept the cat happy with Dreamies and Nige happy with a couple of Weetabix, then back to bed until 9.

It was strange being in Oncology at that time. The only familiar face we saw was Rose’s husband and he was on his way out. We got in dead on time and also topped up on Dexamethasone, Paracetamol and eye drops at the pharmacy. We went straight to town afterwards, to sort out bank accounts and stuff. Without going into details, it was; park on Walcot Street ๐Ÿ™‚ , Waitrose Cafe ๐Ÿ˜ฆ , TSB :/ , Nationwide ๐Ÿ˜ , HSBC ๐Ÿ™‚ , TSB ๐Ÿ™‚ , Lush ๐Ÿ™‚ , Clarks ๐Ÿ™‚ and then home ๐Ÿ™‚ . I find the Emojis a far quicker way of conveying the success or failure of our errands.

We were only really home for a couple of hours – not long at all. Then it was my 10 minute yoga whatsit and off to take Ali to work. Nige came with us as we did the – wait for it – Christmas food shopping on our way home… Oh my goodness. I’ve avoided it for years you know. Of all the chores I’ve taken on, this one has to be the worse. The only positive thing was that, due to Nige’s diligent stamp saving and coupon collecting, our ยฃ171 bill actually cost us ยฃ50 something! Not too shabby eh?

Nick rang this evening. He’s hoping to come round sometime this week to drop off his presents. I love nattering to him, so straight forward and uncomplicated. We also had a small parcel from Norah, Nigel’s mum. At first I thought it was a collection of cards from his family – hoped it was at any rate. No, it was all from Norah; a card for us with some cash in it, vouchers for the boys and a calendar. Very sweet, I’m sure, butย I didย wish his sisters had bothered… Sending meaningless sentiments on Facebook messenger does not a sister make…

‘Oh, I fear I’m unravelling…’ So for the sake of you all, I’m off to bed.

NB ‘What about the reading?’ I hear you ask. Well, two chapters read last night. Yes indeedy, perhaps there’s hope for me yet!

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

