Diary

My Personal Advent. Ho, Ho, Ho!

Wednesday, 21st

mnd_bart_003_lge

Eccles; 6.30. Me; 7 and Nige; 7.30… It’s a pattern of a sort I suppose. Radiotherapy was at 8.48, which is what we’ve been used to and now the schools have finished for Christmas, the traffic is much lighter. Unusually we had to wait for twenty minutes. Apparently LA3 had gone down earlier and was only just back up and running. There was a back log, obviously, to clear, which meant more people in the waiting room. Despite all that and knowing the reason we’re all there, the atmosphere was still as positive as ever. Seriously, there are those on my Facebook page who’d learn a lot by a visit or two to Oncology!

We were home a little later then, but in plenty of time for me to get ready for my coffee with Gem at The Holburne Museum. It was lovely to see her; sat by a purple sculpture of a brain (of course) with a green tea and a smile. I bought a hot chocolate and we exchanged gifts. I had a couple of extra ones, which was truly lovely, from Sue (my head teacher) and from Jayne (my Cedar cohort). All very festive, thank you guys! So Gem and I nattered on about Nige, me, work, life. We laughed, we cried – well Gem cried more than me – and then we wandered around the gift shop. It all felt very normal, although Gem doesn’t usually cry until a couple of bottles of wine have been sunk… We parted with a hug and each others best wishes. Perfect.

As soon as I got home I decided to put up some outdoor lights over the front window. They’re the lanterns from the courtyard and I’d been toying with this for a few days. It took less than half an hour and they look beautiful. I’m so pleased, we were beginning to look a bit lack-lustre up against numbers 5 and 6! Although number 4 still looks like a hovel, with a little pile of black ‘dog poo’ bags next to the dustbin. Yeah, it baffles me too… At some point I fell asleep on the sofa, oh hang on, that would have been about 5.30 because Pointless was on and Nige dozed off next to me for 10 minutes or so. I yawned through a phone call from mum afterwards – that’ll teach me. It was obviously ‘mums night’ as Norah rang Nige too. I love watching his face as he listens, or tries to listen, to what she’s saying. Tonight I listened as he told her exactly how he was feeling, how anxious he felt about what was to happen to him next. Obviously I couldn’t hear her response but the fact that after just a minute or so he asked,

‘What, Gareth? Oh… right…’

told me that the conversation had predictably moved onto Gareth or Millie or Lawrence or ANYONE. Sadly, Nige just accepts this state of affairs, pulling a bored face at me as he tries to process all the unnecessary information she’s giving him. I want to grab the phone and tell her to,

‘Shut up and listen to him!’

After all, she rang him, right? I think I may have to have a chat with her first next time she rings, try to politely explain that her son really needs for her to focus on him when she calls and to make sure she keeps sentences short and relevant.

Everyone finished at different times tonight; Ali at 7.30, Gabe at 9 and Harry at 10. Well, that was the plan. I messaged Gabe at 9 and he replied,

‘I’ll be out at half past :)’

So I headed to the fountain at 20 to 10. I sat and waited and waited, time was ticking by and Harry needed fetching at 10. At 5 to 10 I set off to Morrison’s, keeping an eye out for Gabe en route. Harry was out on time and he tried to ring Gabe – no answer. I retraced the route back to the fountain and there he was, flapping about in the middle of the road! That quirky lad. He’d rung my phone (which I’d left at home) and Nige told him I’d probably gone on to get Harry. What a palaver, eh! Still, all came good in the end and the joy of seeing my new outside lights on our return was, sadly, quite exciting!

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

